1990-1991 37th Drama Desk Awards

Outstanding Actor - Musical   Keith Carradine (The Will Rogers Follies)
  Paul Hipp (Buddy)
  Mandy Patinkin (The Secret Garden)
Jonathan Pryce (Miss Saigon)
Outstanding Actor - Play   Kevin Kline (Hamlet)
  Tom McGowan (La Bete)
Ron Rifkin (The Substance of Fire)
  Sab Shimono (The Wash)
Outstanding Actress - Musical   June Angela (Shogun)
  La Chanze (Once on This Island)
  June Angela (The Secret Garden)
Lea Salonga (Miss Saigon)
Outstanding Actress - Play   Stockard Channing (Six Degrees of Separation)
    Angela Goethals (The Good Times are Killing Me)
    Audra Lindley (About Time)
  Mercedes Ruehl (Lost in Yonkers)
Outstanding Book of a Musical   Marsha Norman (The Secret Garden)
    John Weidman (Assassins)
Outstanding Choreography   Richard Hudson (La Bete)
    Stephen Kaplin, Barbara Pollitt, Toni Leslie-James (The Caucasian Chalk Circle)
    Santo Loquasto (Lost in Yonkers)
  Patricia Zipprodt (Shogun)
Outstanding Costume Design   Jennifer Arnold, Robert Locke (The Lady in Question)
  Jess Goldstien (When She Danced)
  Florence Klotz (City of Angels)
Santo Loquasto (Grand Hotel)
Outstanding Director - Musical Scott Ellis (A Little Night Music / The World Goes Round)
  Lisa Peterson (AThe Waves)
  Susan H. Schulman (The Secret Garden)
  Jerry Zaks (Assassins)
Outstanding Director - Play   Michael Grief (Machinal)
    Richard Jones (La Bete)
    Kevin Kline (Hamlet)
  Jerry Zaks (Six Degrees of Separation)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Musical Bruce Adler (Those Were the Days)
    John Cameron (The Secret Garden)
    John Remme (A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum)
    Lee Wilkof (Assassins)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Play   Dylan Baker (La Bete)
    Marcus Chong (Stand-Up Tragedy)
    LaLand Gantt (Let Me Live)
    Josef Sommer (Hamlet)
  Kevin Spacey (Lost in Yonkers)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Musical   Alison Fraser (The Secret Garden)
    Rebecca Luker (The Secret Garden)
    Regina Resnik (A Little Night Music)
  Karen Ziemba (The World Goes Round)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Play   Jane Adams (I Hate Hamlet)
    Tracey Ellis (Our Country's Goods)
    Julie Halston (Red Scare on Sunset)
    Deirdre O'Connell (Love and Anger)
  Irene Worth (Lost in Yonkers)
Outstanding Lighting Design   Jules Fisher (Hamlet)
  David Hersey (Miss Saigon)
    Don Holder (The Caucasian Chalk Circle)
    Tharon Musser (The Secret Garden)
    Kenneth Posner (Machinal)
Outstanding Lyrics William Finn (Falsettoland)
    Marsha Norman (The Secret Garden)
    Stephen Sondheim (Assassins)
Outstanding Music   David Bucknam (The Waves)
  Cy Coleman (The Will Rogers Follies)
    William Finn (Falsettoland)
    Lucy Simon (The Secret Garden)
    Stephen Sondheim (Assassins)
Outstanding Musical   Assassins
  The Secret Garden
    The Will Rogers Follies
Outstanding Musical Revue And the World Goes Round
    Forever Plaid
    Smoke on the Mountain
    Those Were the Days
Outstanding New Play   La Bete (David Hirson)
  Lost in Yonkers (Neil Simon)
    Six Degrees of Separation (John Guare)
    The Wash (Philip Kan Gotanda)
Outstanding One Person Show Eileen Atkins (A Room of One's Own)
    Jeffrey Essmann (Artificial Reality)
    Spalding Grey (Monster in a Box)
    Tracey Ullman (The Big Love)
Outstanding Orchestration William Brohn (Miss Saigon / The Secret Garden)
    Billy Byers (The Will Rogers Follies)
    David Krane (The World Goes Round)
    Mboni Ngema (Towship Fever)
Outstanding Revival   Camille
    A Little Night Music
Outstanding Set Design   David Gallo (Machinal)
  Heidi Handesman (The Secret Garden)
    Richard Hudson (La Bete)
    Andrew Jackness (The Road to Nirvana)
Outstanding Sound Design - Play   Olu Dara (Let Me Live)
  Aural Fixation (Red Scare on Sunset)
    John Gromada (Machinal)
    Janet Kalas (The Good Times are Killing Me)
Special Awards The Brooklyn Academy of Music
  Harold Rome
  James McMullan
  New York Dramatists
Unique Theatrical Experience Cirque du Soleil


The 56th Drama Desk Awards is
presented by
Blume Media Group

Awards 1

Click here for details

Also Sponsored by:

For Sponsorship Information:
Christopher Raphael 845-987-0303

For Awards Program Advertising:
Allison H. Cohen 212-354-5124

For further information on this Ceremony and Events.
Go to www.DramaDeskAwards.com