1991-1992 38th Drama Desk Awards

Outstanding Actor - Musical   Peter Gallagher (Guys and Dolls)
Gregory Hines (Jelly's Last Jam)
Nathan Lane (Guys and Dolls)
  Spiro Malas (The Most Happy Fella)
Outstanding Actor - Play   F. Murray Abraham (A Life in the Theatre)
Brian Bedford (Two Shakespearean Actors)
  Dennis Boutsikaris (Sight Unseen)
  James McDaniel (Before It Hits Home)
  Brian Murray (A Small Family Business)
Outstanding Actress - Musical   Sophie Hayden (The Most Happy Fella)
  Donna Murphy (Song of Singapore)
Faith Prince (Guys and Dolls)
Outstanding Actress - Play   Jane Alexander (The Visit)
    Glenn Close (Death and the Maiden)
  Laura Esterman (Marvin's Room)
    Deborah Hedwall (Sight Unseen)
Outstanding Book of a Musical George C. Wolfe (Jelly's Last Jam)
Outstanding Choreography   Christopher Chadman (Guys and Dolls)
  Hope Clarke, Gregory Hines, Ted L. Levy (Jelly's Last Jam)
    Susan Stroman (Crazy for You)
Outstanding Costume Design   Gabriel Berry (Tis Pity She's a Whore)
  Toni-Leslie James (Jelly's Last Jam)
  William Ivey Long (Crazy for You)
William Ivey Long (Guys and Dolls)
Outstanding Director - Musical Gerald Gutierrez (The Most Happy Fella)
  Mike Ockrent (Crazy for You)
  George C. Wolfe (Jelly's Last Jam)
  Jerry Zaks (Guys and Dolls)
Outstanding Director - Play   Joanne Akalaitis (Tis Pity She's a Whore)
    Michael Bloom (Sight Unseen)
    David Chambers (Search and Destroy)
  Patrick Mason (Dancing at Lughnasa)
    Mark Wing-Davey (Mad Forest)
Outstanding Director - Play   Dancing at Lughnasa
    From the Mississippi Delta
    Mad Forest
Outstanding Featured Actor - Musical Bruce Adler (Guys and Dolls)
    Walter Bobbie (Crazy for You)
    Savion Glover (Jelly's Last Jam)
    Scott Waara (The Most Happy Fella)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Play   Giancarlo Esposito (Distant Fires)
    Larry Fishburne (Two Trains Running)
    Zeljko Ivanek (Two Shakespearean Actors)
  Mark Rosenthal (Marvin's Room)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Musical   Liz Larsen (The Most Happy Fella)
    Michele Pawk (Crazy for You)
    Tonya Pinkins (Jelly's Last Jam)
  Barbara Walsh (Falsettos)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Play   Christine Baranski (Lips Together, Teeth Apart)
    Lisa Emery (Marvin's Room)
    Harriet Harris (Bella, Belle of Byelorussia)
    Laura Linney (Sight Unseen)
  Nancy Marchand (The End of the Day)
Outstanding Lighting Design   Christopher Akerlind (Mad Forest)
  Trevor Dawson (Dancing at Lughnasa)
    Jules Fisher (Jelly's Last Jam)
    Paul Gallo (Guys and Dolls)
    Mimi Jordan Sherin (Tis Pity She's a Whore)
Outstanding Lyrics Susan Birkenhead (Jelly's Last Jam)
    Michael Garin, Paula Lockheart, Erik Frandsen, Robert Hipkins (Song of Singapore)
Outstanding Music Erik Frandsen, Michael Garin, Paul Lockheart, Robert Hipkins (Song of Singapore)
Outstanding Music in a Play   Jan A.P. Kaczmarek (Tis Pity She's a Whore)
  Richard Peaslee (Akin)
Outstanding Musical Crazy for You
    Jelly's Last Jam
Outstanding New Play   Dancing at Lughnasa (Brian Friel)
  Lips Together, Teeth Apart (Terrence McNally)
    Mad Forest (Caryl Churchill)
    Marvin's Room (Scott McPherson)
    Sight Unseen (Donald Margulies)
    A Small Family Business (Alan Ayckbourne)
Outstanding One Person Show Stan Freeman (At Wit's End)Josh Kornbluth (Red Diaper Baby)
    Kevin Kling (Home and Away)
    Patrick Stewart (A Christmas Carol)
Outstanding Orchestration William D. Brohn (Crazy for You)
    John Carlini (Song of Singapore)
    Luther Henderson (Jelly's Last Jam)
Outstanding Revival of a Musical   Falsettos
    Guys and Dolls
    The Most Happy Fella (Broadway)
    The Most Happy Fella ( N.Y. City Opera)
Outstanding Set Design   John Conklin (Tis Pity She's a Whore)
  Joe Vanek (Dancing at Lughnasa)
    Robin Wagner (Crazy for You)
    Tony Walton (Guys and Dolls)
    James Youmans (Bella, Belle of Byelorussia)
Outstanding Sound Design - Play   Paul Arditti (Four Baboons Adoring the Sun)
  Mark Bennett, Jim Van Bergen (Lypsinka! A Day in the Life)
    Stewart Werner (Lips Together, Teeth Apart)
Special Awards Andre Bishop
  The Irish Repertory Theatre
  Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS
  Suzanne Ishee
Unique Theatrical Experience Blue Man Group in Tubes
    Lypsinka! A Day in the Life


The 56th Drama Desk Awards is
presented by
Blume Media Group

Awards 1

Click here for details

Also Sponsored by:

For Sponsorship Information:
Christopher Raphael 845-987-0303

For Awards Program Advertising:
Allison H. Cohen 212-354-5124

For further information on this Ceremony and Events.
Go to www.DramaDeskAwards.com