1995-1996 42nd Drama Desk Awards

Honorary Awards Repertorio Espanol
  Signature Theatre Company
  Theatreworks USA
  George C. Scott
Outstanding Actor - Musical   David Garrison (I Do! I Do!)
  Savion Glover (Bring in 'Da Noise, Bring in 'Da Funk)
  Daniel Jenkins (Big)
Nathan Lane (A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum)
  Adam Pascal (Rent)
  Lou Diamond Phillips (The King and I)
Outstanding Actor - Play   Gerry Bamman (Nixon's Nixon)
  George Grizzard (A Delicate Balance)
Frank Langella (The Father)
  Mark Nelson (Picasso at the Lapin Agile)
  Rocco Sisto (Quills)
  Patrick Stewart (The Tempest)
Outstanding Actress - Musical Julie Andrews (Victor/Victoria)
  Terri Klausner (Bed and Sofa)
  Christa Moore (Big)
  Donna Murphy (The King and I)
  Daphne Rubin-Vega (Rent)
  Karen Ziemba (I Do! I Do!)
Outstanding Actress - Play   Catherine Byrne (Molly Sweeney)
  Zoe Caldwell (Master Class)
    Uta Hagen (Mrs. Klein)
    Lisagay Hamilton (Valley Song)
    Rosemary Harris (A Delicate Balance)
    Sarah Jessica Parker (Sylvia)
Outstanding Book of a Musical   Bed and Sofa (Laurnce Klavan)
    Big (John Weidman)
    Chronicle of a Death Foretold (Jim Lewis, Graciela Daniele)
    Rent (Jonathan Larson)
Outstanding Choreography   Graciela Daniele (Chronicle of a Death Foretold)
  Savion Glover (Bring in 'Da Noise, Bring in 'Da Funk)
    Ghettoriginal Productions (Jam on the Groove)
    Kathleen Marshall (Swinging on a Star)
    Susan Stroman (Big)
Outstanding Costume Design   Jane Greenwood - Sylvia (The Petrified Prince) Roger Kirk - The King and I Michael Krass - Entertaining Mr. Sloane Toni-Leslie James - The Tempest Julie Taymor, Constance Hoffman - The Green Bird Angela Wendt - Rent
  Jess Goldstein (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
  Jane Greenwood (The Heiress)
Florence Klotz (Showboat)
  Stephen Brimson Lewis (Indiscretions)
  William Ivey Long (A Christmas Carol)
Outstanding Director - Musical   Christopher Ashley (Das Barbecii)
  Michael Mayer (America Dreaming)
  Trevor Nunn (Sunset Boulevard)
Harold Prince (Showboat)
Outstanding Director - Play   Declan Donnellan (As You Like It)
    David Esbjornson (Iphigenia and Other Daughters)
  Gerald Gutierrez (The Heiress)
    Emily Mann (As Having Our Say)
    Joe Mantello (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
    Sean Mathias (Indiscretions)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Play   Simon Coates (As You Like It)
    John Glover (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
    Kevin Kilner (The Glass Menagerie)
    Anthony LaPaglia (The Rose Tattoo)
  Nathan Lane (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
    Alessandro Nivola (A Month in the Country)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Play   J. Smith Cameron (The Naked Truth)
    Tara Fitzgerald (Hamlet)
    Hallie Foote (The Horton Foote Plays)
    Penny Fuller (Three Viewings)
    Camryn Manheim (Missing Persons)
    Sheila Tousey (Iphigenia and Other Daughters)
Outstanding Lighting Design   Beverly Emmons (The Heiress)
    Paul Gallo (Blade to the Heart)
  Mark Henderson (Indiscretions)
    Brian MacDevitt (Love! Valour! Compassion!)
    Richard Pilbrow (Showboat)
Outstanding Musical   A Christmas Carol
    How to Succeed in Business without Really Trying
    Merrily We Roll Along
    Sunset Boulevard
Outstanding One Person Show   Dan Butler (The Only Thing Worse You Could Have Told Me)
    Danny Hoch (Some People)
    Avi Hoffman (Too Jewish?)
    Lisa Kron (101 Humiliating Stories)
  James Lecesne (Word of Mouth)
Outstanding Play   Arcadia (Tom Stoppard)
    The Cryptogram (David Mamet)
  Love! Valour! Compassion! (Terrence McNally)
    Missing Persons (Craig Lucas)
    Raised in Captivity (Nicky Silver)
    SubUrbia (Eric Bogosian)
Outstanding Revival - Reinterpetation   Cheek by Jowl (As You Like It)
    Theatre for a New Audience (Henry VI)
  Lincoln Center Theatre (The Heiress)
    Roundabout Theatre Company (The Moliere Comedies)
Outstanding Set Design   Arcadia (Mark Thompson)
    Hapgood (Bob Crowley)
    Indiscretions (Stephen Brimson Lewis)
    A Month in the Country (Santo Loquasto)
    The Petrified Prince (James Youmans)
  Showboat (Eugene Lee)
Special Awards The Barrow Group


The 56th Drama Desk Awards is
presented by
Blume Media Group

Awards 1

Click here for details

Also Sponsored by:

For Sponsorship Information:
Christopher Raphael 845-987-0303

For Awards Program Advertising:
Allison H. Cohen 212-354-5124

For further information on this Ceremony and Events.
Go to www.DramaDeskAwards.com