1982-1983 29th Drama Desk Awards

Outstanding Actor - Play   Matthew Broderick (Torch Song Trilogy)
Jeff Daniels (Johnny Got His Gun)
Harvey Fierstein (Torch Song Trilogy)
  John Malkovich (True West)
Remak Ramsay (Quartermain's Terms)
John Rubinstein (The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial)
James Russo (Extremities)
Outstanding Actress - Musical   Mara Beckerman (Charlotte Sweet)
    Betty Buckley (Cats)
    Ellen Green (The Little Shop of Horros)
  Natalia Makarova (On Your Toes)
    Twiggy (My One and Only)
Outstanding Actress - Play   Suzanne Bertish (Skirmishes)
    Colleen Dewhurst (Queen and the Rebels)
    Thuli Dumakude (Poppi Nongena)
    Christine Estabrook (Win/Lose/Draw)
    Susan Sarandon (Extremities)
  Jessica Tandy (Foxfire)
Outstanding Choreogrpahy   Peter Martins, Donald Saddler (On Your Toes)
  Thommie Walsh, Tommy Tune (My One and Only)
Outstanding Costume Design   Zack Brown (On Your Toes)
  Patricia McGourty (Death of Von Ritchtofen)
John Napier (OnCats)
  Rita Ryack (My One and Only)
  Patricia Zipprodt (Alice in Wonderland)
Outstanding Director - Musical George Abbott (On Your Toes)
    Howard Ashman (The Little Shop of Horrors)
Outstanding Director - Play   Robert Allan Ackerman (Extremities)
    Michael Bennett (Third Street)
    Trevor Nunn (All's Well That Ends Well)
  George C. Scott (Present Laughter)
    Arthur Sherman (The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial)
    Gary Sinise (True West)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Musical Charles Coles (My One and Only)
    Bruce Hubbard (Showboat)
    Franc Luz (The Little Shop of Horrors)
    Randle Mell (The Cradle Will Rock)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Play Alan Fienstein (A View from the Bridge)
    Stephen Joyce (The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial)
    Nathan Lane (Present Laughter)
    Frank Maraden (The Workroom)
    Stephen Moore (All's Well That Ends Well)
    Michael Moriarty (The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial)
    Stephen D. Newman (The Misanthrope)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Musical Karla Burns (Showboat)
    Kate McGregor-Stewart (Beyond Therapy)
    Anne Twomey (Vieux Carre)
    Michele-Denise Woods (The Cradle Will Rock)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Play   Maureen Anderman (You Can't Take It with You)
    Dana Ivey (Present Laughter / Quartermaine's Terms)
  Judith Ivey (Steaming)
    Rebecca Wright (Merlin)
Outstanding Lighting Design   Ken Billington (Foxfire)
  David Hersey (Cats)
    Allen Lee Hughes (K2)
    Richard Nelson (Death of Von Richthofen)
    Mal Sturchio (Johnny Got His Gun)
Outstanding Lyrics Howard Ashman (The Little Shop of Horrors)
    Michael Colby (Charlotte Sweet)
    T.S. Eliot (Cats)
    Des McAnuff (Death of Von Richthofen)
Outstanding Music   Larry Grossman (A Doll's Life)
    Gerald Jay Markee (Charlotte Sweet)
    Des McAnuff (Death of Von Richthofen)
    Alan Menken (The Little Shop of Horrors)
  Andrew Lloyd Webber (Cats)
Outstanding Musical The Little Shop of Horrors
    My One and Only
Outstanding New Play   Brighton Beach Memoirs (Neil Simon)
    Edmund (David Mamet)
    Extremities (William Mastrosimone)
    Geniuses (Jonathan Reynolds)
  Torch Song Trilogy (Harvey Fierstein)
    True West (Sam Shepard)
Outstanding Orchestration Michael Gibson (My One and Only)
  Hans Spialek (On Your Toes)
Outstanding Revival   All's Well That Ends Well
    The Caine Mutiny Court-Martial
    The Cradle Will Rock
    On Your Toes
    Present Laughter
    Vieux Carre
Outstanding Set Design   John Gunter (All's Well That Ends Well)
    Andrew Jackness (Whodunnit / Geniuses)
    Marjorie Bradley Kellogg (Present Laughter / Steaming / Extremities)
  Ming Cho Lee (K2)
    Douglas Lundell (Death of Von Richthofen)
Outstanding Special Effects   Glen Priest, Robin Wagner, Jim Steinmeyer, Doug Henning, Charles Reynolds, John Gaughan (Merlin)
  Ron Taylor, Martin P. Robinson (The Little Shop of Horrors)
Special Awards   Kyle Renick (WPA Theatre)
    Douglas Watt
    Richard Wilbur (The Misanthrope)


The 56th Drama Desk Awards is
presented by
Blume Media Group

Awards 1

Click here for details

Also Sponsored by:

For Sponsorship Information:
Christopher Raphael 845-987-0303

For Awards Program Advertising:
Allison H. Cohen 212-354-5124

For further information on this Ceremony and Events.
Go to www.DramaDeskAwards.com