1987-1988 34th Drama Desk Awards

Outstanding Actor - Musical   David Carroll (Chess)
Michael Crawford (Phantom of the Opera)
  Howard McGillin (Anything Goes)
  George Merritt (Lost in the Stars)
Outstanding Actor - Play   Derek Jacobi (Breaking the Code)
  Delroy Lindo (Joe Turner's Come and Gone)
  John Lithgow (M Butterfly)
  John Malkovich (Burn This)
  Joe Mantegna (Speed the Plow)
Ron Silver (Speed the Plow)
Outstanding Actress - Musical   Sarah Brightman (Phantom of the Opera)
  Judy Kuhn (Chess)
Patti LuPone (Anything Goes)
  Bernadette Peters (Into the Woods)
Outstanding Actress - Play   Kathy Bates (Frankie and Johnny in the Claire de Lune)
  Stockard Channing (Women in Mind)
    Amy Irving (The Road to Mecca)
    Glenda Jackson (Macbeth)
    E. Katherine Kerr (Laughing Wild)
    Gordana Rashovich (Shayna Maidel)
Outstanding Book of a Musical James Lapine (Into the Woods)
Outstanding Choreography   Grover Dale (Mail)
    Gillian Lynne (Phantom of the Opera)
  Michael Smuin (Anything Goes)
Outstanding Costume Design Maria Bjornson (Phantom of the Opera)
  Eiko Ishioka (M Butterfly)
  Ann Hould-Ward (Into the Woods)
  Tony Walton (Anything Goes)
Outstanding Director - Musical   James Lapine (Into the Woods)
  Harold Prince (Cabaret)
  Harold Prince (Phantom of the Opera)
Jerry Zaks (Anything Goes)
Outstanding Director - Play John Dexter (M Butterfly)
    W.H. Macy (Boy's Life)
    Lynne Meadow (Women in Mind)
    Gregory Mosher (Speed the Plow)
    Lloyd Richards (Joe Turner's Come and Gone)
Outstanding Ensemble Performance   Boy's Life
    The Day Room
    Oil City Symphony
Outstanding Featured Actor - Musical   Harry Goz (Chess)
    Anthony Heald (Anything Goes)
    Bill McCutcheon (Anything Goes)
    Herbert Rawlings (Dreamgirls)
  Robert Westenberg (Into the Woods)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Play   Athol Fugard (The Road to Mecca)
    Michael Gough (Breaking the Code)
    Joe Grifasi (Boys Next Door)
    Ed Hall (Joe Turner's Come and Gone)
    Lou Liberatore (Burn This)
  B.D. Wong (M Butterfly)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Musical   Danielle Ferland (Into the Woods)
  Joanna Gleason (Into the Woods)
    Lyn Greene (Flora the Red Menace)
    Judy Kaye (Phantom of the Opera)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Play   Kimberleigh Aarn (Joe Turner's Come and Gone)
  Christine Estabrook (Boys Next Door)
    Frances McDormand (A Streetcar Named Desire)
    Kimberly Scott (Joe Turner's Come and Gone)
Outstanding Lighting Design Andrew Bridge (Phantom of the Opera)
    Pat Collins (Women in Mind)
    Paul Gallo (Anything Goes / Wenceslas Square)
    David Hersey (Chess)
    Richard Nelson (Into the Woods)
Outstanding Lyrics   Barry Harman (Romance, Romance)
    Stephen Sondheim (Into the Woods)
Outstanding Music   Benny Andersson, Bjorn Ulvaeus (Chess)
    David Evans (Birds of Paradise)
    Hugh Masekela, Mbongeni Ngema (Sarafina)
    Stephen Sondheim (Into the Woods)
  Andrew Lloyd Webber (Phantom of the Opera)
Outstanding Musical Into the Woods
    Phantom of the Opera
Outstanding New Play   Boy's Life (Howard Korder)
    Joe Turner's Come and Gone (August Wilson)
  M Butterfly (David Henry Hwang)
    The Road to Mecca (Athol Fugard)
    Speed the Plow (David Mamet)
    Women in Mind (Alan Ayckbourn)
Outstanding One Person Show Barbara Cook (A Concert for the Theatre)
Outstanding Orchestration David Cullen, Andrew Lloyd Webber (Phantom of the Opera)
    Michael Gibson (Anything Goes)
    Michael Starobin (Birds of Paradise)
    Jonathan Tunick (Into the Woods)
Outstanding Revival   Anything Goes
    Flora the Red Menace
    Lost in the Stars
Outstanding Set Design Maria Bjornson (Phantom of the Opera)
    Scott Bradley (Joe Turner's Come and Gone)
    Eiko Ishioka (M Butterfly)
    Tony Straiges (Into the Woods)
    Tony Walton (Anything Goes)
Special Awards The Yale Repertory Theatre
  Actors Equity Association
  Michael Feinstein
  The Theatre on Film and Tape Collection


The 56th Drama Desk Awards is
presented by
Blume Media Group

Awards 1

Click here for details

Also Sponsored by:

For Sponsorship Information:
Christopher Raphael 845-987-0303

For Awards Program Advertising:
Allison H. Cohen 212-354-5124

For further information on this Ceremony and Events.
Go to www.DramaDeskAwards.com