2002-2003 48th Drama Desk Awards

Outstanding One-Person Solo Performance   Buicks (Julian Sheppard)Yellowman (Dael Orlandersmith)
    Our Lady of 121st Street (Stephen Adly Guirgis)
    Peter and Vandy (Jay DiPietro)
  Take Me Out (Richard Greenberg)
    Talking Heads (Alan Bennett)
Outstanding Actor - Musical Brent Carver (Parade)
  Martin Short (Little Me)
  Patrick Wilson (Bright Lights Big City)
  Tom Wopat (Annie Get Your Gun)
Outstanding Musical   Amour
    Avenue Q
    A Man of No Importance
    Movin' Out
    Zanna, Don't!
Outstanding Revival of a Play   A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
    Dinner at Eight
    Long Day's Journey Into Night
    Twelfth Night
    Uncle Vanya
Outstanding Revival of a Musical   Gypsy
    La Boheme
    Man of La Mancha
Outstanding Actor - Play   Simon Russell Beale - Uncle Vanya
    Norbert Leo Butz - Buicks
    Jim Dale - Comedians
    Brian Dennehy - Long Day's Journey Into Night
    Eddie Izzard - A Day in the Death of Joe Egg
    Daniel Sunjata - Take Me Out
Outstanding Actress - Play   Jayne Atkinson - Enchanted April
    Marylouise Burke - Kimberly Akimbo
    Claire Higgins - Vincent in Brixton
    Dael Orlandersmith - Yellowman
    Vanessa Redgrave - Long Day's Journey Into Night
    Fiona Shaw - Medea
Outstanding Actor - Musical   Antonio Banderas - Nine
    Harvey Fierstein - Hairspray
    Malcolm Gets - Amour
    Brian Stokes Mitchell - Man of La Mancha
    Jason Petty - Hank Williams: Lost Highway
    John Selya - Movin' Out
Outstanding Actress - Musical   Stephanie D'Abruzzo - Avenue Q
    Ann Duquesnay - Cookin' at the Cookery
    Wei Huang - La Boheme
    Elizabeth Parkinson - Movin' Out
    Bernadette Peters - Gypsy
    Marissa Jaret Winokur - Hairspray
Outstanding Featured Actor - Play   Simon Russell Beale - Twelfth Night
    Walter Bobbie - Polish Joke
    Philip Seymour Hoffman - Long Day's Journey Into Night
    T.R. Knight - Scattergood
    Denis O'Hare - Take Me Out
    Frederick Weller - Take Me Out
Outstanding Featured Actress - Play   Christine Ebersole - Talking Heads
    Jan Maxwell - My Old Lady
    Helen McCrory - Uncle Vanya
    Nancy Opel - Polish Joke
    Lynn Redgrave - Talking Heads
    Jeanine Serralles - Hold Please
Outstanding Featured Actor - Musical   John Dossett - Gypsy
    Christopher Fitzgerald - Amour
    Charles Keating - A Man of No Importance
    Dick Latessa - Hairspray
    Steven Pasquale - A Man of No Importance
    Corey Reynolds - Hairspray
Outstanding Featured Actress - Musical   Kerry Butler - Hairspray
    Jane Krakowski - Nine
    Mary Stuart Masterson - Nine
    Sally Mayes - Urban Cowboy
    Chita Rivera - Nine
    Debra Walton - Cookin' at the Cookery
Outstanding Director - Play   Robert Falls - Long Day's Journey Into Night
    Philip Seymour Hoffman - Our Lady of 121st Street
    Joe Mantello - Take Me Out
    Sam Mendes - Twelfth Night
    Sam Mendes - Uncle Vanya
    Deborah Warner - Medea
Outstanding Director - Musical   James Lapine - Amour
    David Leveaux - Nine
    Baz Luhrmann - La Boheme
    Joe Mantello - A Man of No Importance
    Jack O'Brien - Hairspray
    Twyla Tharp - Movin' Out
Outstanding Choreography   Jerry Mitchell - Hairspray
    Ken Roberson - Harlem Song
    Twyla Tharp - Movin' Out
    Tommy Tune - Tommy Tune: White Tie and Tails
Outstanding Music   Tim Acito - Zanna, Don't!
    Stephen Flaherty - A Man of No Importance
    Michel Legrand - Amour
    Robert Lopez, Jeff Marx - Avenue Q
    Keb' Mo', Anderson Edwards, Keith Glover - Thunder Knocking on the Door
    Marc Shaiman - Hairspray
Outstanding Lyrics   Tim Acito, Alexander Dinelaris - Zanna, Don't!
    Lynn Ahrens - A Man of No Importance
    Craig Carnelia - Imaginary Friends
    Robert Lopez, Jeff Marx - Avenue Q
    Jeremy Sams, Didier van Cauwelaert - Amour
    Scott Wittman, Marc Shaiman - Hairspray
Outstanding Book of a Musical   Tim Acito, Alexander Dinelaris - Zanna, Don't!
    Terrence McNally - A Man of No Importance
    Mark O'Donnell, Thomas Meehan - Hairspray
    Jeremy Sams, Didier van Cauwelaert - Amour
    Jeff Whitty - Avenue Q
Outstanding Orchestrations   Luther Henderson - Little Ham
    Michel Legrand - Amour
    Harold Wheeler - Hairspray
Outstanding Set Design - Play   John Lee Beatty - Dinner at Eight
    John Lee Beatty - My Old Lady
    Troy Hourie - Temporary Help
    Scott Pask - Take Me Out
    Neil Patel - Endpapers
    B.T. Whitehall - Shanghai Moon
Outstanding Set Design - Musical   Riccardo Hernandez, Batwin + Robin Productions - Radiant Baby
    Catherine Martin - La Boheme
    Scott Pask - Amour
    Stephane Roy - Cirque du Soleil: Varekai
    David Rockwell - Hairspray
Outstanding Costume Design   Michael Bottari, Ronald Case - Shanghai Moon
    Jess Goldstein - Enchanted April
    Eiko Ishioka - Cirque du Soleil: Varekai
    William Ivey Long - Hairspray
    Catherine Martin, Angus Strathie - La Boheme
    Catherine Zuber - Dinner at Eight
Outstanding Lighting Design   Kevin Adams - Take Me Out
    Russell H. Champa - Yellowman
    Donald Holder - Movin' Out
    Donald Holder - Observe the Sons of Ulster Marching Toward the Somme
    Nigel Levings - La Boheme
    Peter Mumford - Vincent in Brixton
Outstanding Sound Design   Acme Sound Partners - La Boheme
    Mark Bennett - Golda's Balcony
    Mark Bennett - Julius Caesar
    Francois Bergeron - Cirque du Soleil: Varekai
    Janet Kalas - Take Me Out
    David Meschter, Mel Mercier - Medea
Outstanding Solo Performance   Barbara Cook - Mostly Sondheim
    Tovah Feldshuh - Golda's Balcony
    Frank Gorshin - Say Goodnight, Gracie
    Ricky Jay - Ricky Jay: On the Stem
    Priscilla Lopez - Class Mothers '68
    Charlayne Woodard - In Real Life
Unique Theatrical Expierence   Cirque du Soleil: Varekai
    The Exonerated
    The Play
    What I Wrote
    Russell Simmons Def Poetry Jam on Broadway
Special Awards   Brooklyn Academy of Music
    Charles Busch
    Geoffrey Johnson, Vincent Liff


The 56th Drama Desk Awards is
presented by
Blume Media Group

Awards 1

Click here for details

Also Sponsored by:

For Sponsorship Information:
Christopher Raphael 845-987-0303

For Awards Program Advertising:
Allison H. Cohen 212-354-5124

For further information on this Ceremony and Events.
Go to www.DramaDeskAwards.com