1996-1997 43rd Drama Desk Awards

Outstanding Actor - Musical Robert Cuccioli (Jekyll and Hyde)
  Jim Dale (Candide)
  Jason Danieley (Candide)
  Daniel McDonald (Steel Pier)
  James Naughton (Chicago)
Outstanding Actor - Play   Michael Gambon (Skylight)
  Frank Langella (Present Laughter)
  Donal McLann (The Steward of Christendom)
  Daniel Massey (Taking Sides)
David Morse (How I Learned to Drive)
Christopher Plummer (Barrymore)
Outstanding Actress - Musical   Linda Eder (Jekyll and Hyde)
  Pamela Isaacs (The Life)
Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago)
  Lauren Ward (Violet)
  Karen Ziemba (Steel Pier)
Outstanding Actress - Play   Jayne Atkinson (The Skriker)
    Frances Conroy (The Rehearsal)
    Shirley Knight (The Young Man from Atlanta)
  Janet McTeer (A Doll's House)
    Vanessa Redgrave (Antony and Cleopatra)
    Lia Williams (Skylight)
Outstanding Choreography   Dean Perry (Tap Dogs)
  Anne Reinking(Chicago)
    Susan Stroman(Steel Pier)
Outstanding Costume Design Howard Crabtree (Howard Crabtree's When Pigs Fly)
  Marina Druhici (The Skriker)
  Michael Krass (HowThe Rehearsal)
  G.W. Mercier, Julie Taymor (Juan Darient: A Carnival Mass)
  Martin Pakledinaz (The Life)
  Ann Ruth (Present Laughter)
Outstanding Director - Musical   Michael Blakemore (The Life)
Walter Bobbie (Chicago)
  Scott Ellis (Steel Pier)
  Susan H. Schulman (Violet)
    Mark Waldrop (Howard Crabtree's When Pigs Fly)
Outstanding Director - Play Mark Brokaw (How I Learned to Drive)
    Robert La Page (The Seven Streams of the River Ota)
    Lynne Meadow (Nine Armenians)
    Deborah Warner (The Waste Land)
    Mark Wing-Davey (The Skriker)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Musical   Stanley Bojarski (Howard Crabtree's When Pigs Fly)
    Andre De Shields (Play On!)
  Joel Grey (Chicago)
    Sam Harris (The Life)
    Michael McElroy (Violet)
    Jay Rogers (Howard Crabtree's When Pigs Fly)
Outstanding Featured Actor - Play   Kirk Acevedo (Tooth of Crime)
    Billy Crudup (The Three Sisters)
    David Greenspan (The Boys in the Band)
    Edward Herrmann (Psychopatria Sexualis)
  Brian Murray (The Little Foxes)
    Christopher Evan Welch (Scapin)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Musical   Marcia Lewis (Chicago)
    Andrea Martin (Candide)
    Debra Monk (Steel Pier)
    Jennifer Simard (I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change)
  Lillias White (The Life)
    Ruth Williamson (The Green Heart)
Outstanding Featured Actress - Play   Kathleen Chalfont (Nine Armenians)
     Linda Edmond (Nine Armenians)
    Melissa Errico (The Importance of Being Earnest)
    Dana Ivey (The Last Night of Ballyhoo)
    Dana Ivey (Sex and Longing)
      Allison Janney (Present Laughter)
    Celia Weston (The Last Night of Ballyhoo)
Outstanding Lighting Design   Kevin Adams (Henry VI)
  Ken Billington (Chicago)
    Doanld Holder (Juan Darient: A Carnival Mass)
    Jean Kalman (The Waste Land)
    Richard Pilbrow (The Life)
Outstanding Lyrics Gerard Alessandrini (Forbidden Broadway Strikes Back)
    Brian Crawley (Violet)
    Mark Waldrop (Howard Crabtree's When Pigs Fly)
Outstanding Music Cy Coleman (The Life)
    John Kander (Steel Pier)
    Jeanine Tesori (Violet)
Outstanding Musical Revue   Forbidden Broadway Strikes Back
  Howard Crabtree's When Pigs Fly
    I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change
Outstanding New Musical The Life
    Steel Pier
Outstanding New Play   Dealer's Choice (Patrick Marber)
  How I Learned to Drive (Paula Vogel)
    The Last Night of Ballyhoo (Alfred Uhry)
    The Skriker (Caryl Churchill)
    This Is Our Youth (Kenneth Lonergan)
Outstanding One Person Show   Eve Ensher (The Vagina Monologues)
    Roger Guenveur Smith (A Huey P. Newton Story)
    Eddie Izzard
  Fiona Shaw (The Waste Land)
    Julia Sweeney (Julia Sweeney's God Said Ha!)
Outstanding Orchestration   Michael Gibson (Steel Pier)
    Joseph Joubert (Violet)
    Buryl Red (Violet)
    Dan Sebesky, Harold Wheeler (The Life)
  Jonathan Tunick (Titanic)
Outstanding Revival - Musical   Candide
    Juan Darient: A Carnival Mass
Outstanding Revival - Play A Doll's House
    The Gin Game
    June Moon
    Present Laughter
Outstanding Set Design - Musical   Clarke Dunham (Candide)
    Wendall K. Harrington (Steel Pier)
    James Morgan (No Way to Treat a Lady)
    G.W. Mercier, Julie Taymor (Juan Darient: A Carnival Mass)
  Christina Poddubiuk, James Noone, Robin Phillips (Jekyll and Hyde)
    Tony Walton (Steel Pier)
Outstanding Set Design - Play   Robert Brill (The Rehearsal)
    Marina Draghizi (The Skriker)
  David Gallo, Jan Hartley (Bunny, Bunny)
    Derek McLane (Present Laughter)
    James Noone (The Gin Game)
Outstanding Sound Design John Gromada (The Skriker)
    Daniel Modes Schreier (God's Heart)
    Marc Anthony Thompson (A Huey P. Newton Story)
Special Awards Moscow Theatre Souvremennika
Unique Theatrical Experience   The Beckett Plays
    The Three Lives of Lucie Cabrol
  The Waste Land
    You Say What I Mean But You Mean It's Not What I Said


The 56th Drama Desk Awards is
presented by
Blume Media Group

Awards 1

Click here for details

Also Sponsored by:

For Sponsorship Information:
Christopher Raphael 845-987-0303

For Awards Program Advertising:
Allison H. Cohen 212-354-5124

For further information on this Ceremony and Events.
Go to www.DramaDeskAwards.com